The Angels (Australia)

The Angels is an innovative Australian rock band that formed in Adelaide, Australia in 1974. The band later relocated from Adelaide to Sydney and enjoyed huge local succes, clocking up hit singles across four decades, including 'No Secrets', 'Marseilles', 'Long Line', 'Mr Damage', 'Let The Night Roll On' and 'Waiting For The Sun'.

The Angels were cited by bands like 'Guns N' Roses', and a number of Seattle grunge bands, including 'Pearl Jam' and 'Nirvana', as having influenced their music. For the purposes of international release, their records were released under the names 'Angel City' and later 'The Angels from Angel City'.

After spending most of the 2000s apart, in April 2008, the original 1970s line-up of The Angels reformed for a series of tours.

In late 2010, vocalist Doc Neeson announced he was also pursuing a solo career.

In May 2011, The Angels revealed they had recruited 'The Screaming Jets' singer, and MMMFM radio DJ, Dave Gleeson to front the band and were recording new songs for the first time since the late 1990s.

In June 2011, The Angels released the EP, 'Waiting for the Sun' and toured Australia in support of the new EP through late 2011 and 2012, clocking up numerous sold-out shows. In January 2012, the Angels recorded a new live album, their first in two decades, at the QPAC theatre in Brisbane, Queensland.

In March 2012, the Angels announced they finished recording a new studio album with Dave Gleeson. The album, 'Take It to the Streets', was released on 31 August 2012, debuting at number seven on the ARIA Australian albums chart.

In November and December 2012, the Angels with Dave Gleeson joined the Baby Animals and the Hoodoo Gurus for the national 'Day on the Green' tour, and announced the 'Take It To The Streets' national tour, beginning 22 February 2012.

On Thursday, 10 January 2013 it was announced that Doc Neeson had been diagnosed with a brain tumour, of which he died on 4 June 2014.

International names were Angel City (1980-1985), The Angels From Angel City (1988-1989), The Angels (1992).

Members

Doc Neeson (lead vocals), 1976-2000, 2008 -John Brewster, (rhythm guitar, vocals), 1976-1985, 2001-Rick Brewster (lead guitar, vocals), 1976-Chris Bailey (bass), 1977-1982, 2001-Graham "Buzz" Bidstrup (drums, vocals), 1976-1981, 2001-

Past Members Brent Eccles (drums), 1981-2000 Jim Hilbun (bass, vocals), 1982-1989,1993-2000 Bob Spencer (rhythm guitar, vocals), 1985-1993 James Morley (bass, vocals), 1990-1992